top of page

RETURN OF THE PRAKEN

I have been sitting here for the last hour trying to figure out HOW I wanted to start this blog.

I thought about starting off with a deep quote, or maybe, something about what my goals are in Triathlon/Life.

Then I realized it would disingenous of me to start off with anything OTHER than this sweet .gif of a pug.

Enjoy.

Alright I'm back.

It took me a while to get this website going. I apologize. I know for a fact that there are at least two people who aren't my mother who have told me this would be a good idea. Why? Apparently I have a lot to say. My JK report cards confirm this. But for the first time in my life, I had a serious case of writer's block any time I tried to put fingers to keyboard. It was rough. I took up crosswords and Parasailing to pass the time. I don't know what eventually motivated me to pull myself out of this existential crisis but it might have been this picture:

Oh crap. Wrong picture. I meant this one.

For those who might not know who I am, first of all I am the Real Slim Shady. Second, I am very new to triathlon. I am barely out of the water-wings phase. My buddy Lionel Sanders is still in it. If you have no idea who I am, that's perfectly ok. At the risk of sounding cliché, I'm still trying to figure out who I am as well.

The reason why the above photo means a lot to me is that it showed me a new side to MYSELF. Provincial Sprint Champion. Fourth Triathlon ever. Is that supposed to happen? I didn't think so. But then some success followed. An (almost!) undefeated AG season? Winner of the MSC 20-24 series with a perfect score? Provincial Team Champs? Short Course AG Athlete of the year?

wut

Now I don't mean to sound cocky. I really don't. What I'm trying to get at is that I WAS IN AWE.

I was like:

"wut how who is this I like reading and stuff I am athlete who when?"

During the season, I was in the MODE. Wake up and GTWD (Go to Walt Disneyland). Trilathon was lyfe. I loved it. And then BOOM couldn't do it. Nope. Happened in August. Sucked. I cried. That's not an exaggeration. I was in the dark depths of the season.

Now at this point I should probably tell you a bit about myself. I'm basing this on the presumption that people other than my mom will read this. I am NOT a professional athlete. I am an Age-Grouper. So that makes me appreciate pros even more. Because this stuff is HARD when you try and do it every day. Next time you see a pro triathlete, buy them an ice-cream. Feel free to buy me one too.

FOCUS PRAK FOCUS

That photo reminds me that I did THAT. And while winning TTF was pretty hype, I know that it doesn't necessarily rank up there with winning the Tour or discovering fire or something. But it gave me a taste. And I knew I wanted something more.

But I'm not talking about winning. Or cute triathlon girls. well. uh. yeah. What I AM talking about is the mental journey I took that day. I was not there. Like in my body. I was somewhere else. It was hype.

And now I want more. I want to explore my mind through sport.

I have no idea where I'm going with this, but I can tell you one thing. Nothing I do is ever conventional.

So join me.

Expect the Unexpected.

Welcome to Mind + Motion


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page