top of page

A Dog with a Moustache and Other Somewhat Relevant Things

Alright. I'm back. If you're reading this, well, so are you. Let's do this.

So my last post was pretty general. There were funny pictures and stuff. Now it's time for some business. But first, here's a picture of a dog (?) with a moustache to warm you up.

First some thank you's. Some bad men and women actually shared my last post. Believe it or not, this crappy website has already gone international. If the man/woman/child from Israel is reading this again..."Shalom". A lot has happened since I started this website. Which is ironic, because that one compression sock that the dryer ate like a month ago is still gone. Weird.

I have two VERY big announcements.

1) YA BOI PRAK IS PARTNERING WITH PURSUIT MASSAGE THERAPY AND RECOVERY CENTRE.

There's a few reasons why I'm particularly excited about this. FIRST, if you've never been to Pursuit, you're seriously missing out. Apparently Triathlon/sport/speed dating beats you up a bit. So when I'm feeling a little bruised, having the Normatec angels caress my gastrocnemius is amazing. That sounded dirty. It wasn't. Bottom line- the equipment they have there is world class. Any athlete who is serious about what they do needs to check this place out. So that rules out Strava nerds.

SECOND- man the people that work here are awesome. And I am well aware that sounded like a PHAT plug. It wasn't. And here's why. I'm a straight up kinda guy. If I don't like something/someone/Donald Trump I'm not afraid to say it. I would never partner with anyone/anything if I didn't feel like they weren't honest brokers. I don't do anything with anyone if I'm not feeling it. That also sounded dirty. Crap. But that's why I spent my sweet time getting to know Laura Ryan (le owner) and the rest of the staff before talking biz.

THIRD- people often ask me what my goals for the seasons are. I usually say something like "landing on the moon" or "not drowning". Sometimes when presssed I'll throw out some random numbers (32!) and that seems to make people happy. But I actually have a goal this season and I'm going to be super explicit about it. For those of you who were following along last season, you might remember #Tecumseh13- the bet between Sly Ly and I at the Tecumseh Triathlon. That might have seemed like a just a funny bet, and maybe it orignally started off that way, but it turned into a community building event. And I'm not even going to TRY and take credit for that. Laura and Cynthia Cyvaglia turned into a freaking awesome fundraiser. And I guess Lionel is famous and stuff ugh. But at the end of the day, even though I lost (bad), Hospice won. But I also saw the community step up and really make this into something else. Which got me thinking...

Why can't we have more community building events like this?

Why can't we increase participation at local races?

Why can't we stop outsourcing our community identity to larger race brands?

And then it hit me.

We've got to stop thinking that local races can't offer us as much as the bigger races.

Boom.

Ok maybe there aren't massive expos/gold goodie bags/aid stations every 3ft... but if you think for ONE second that somehow makes them less valuable you're probably snorting GU. I can't think of any other race I've done where I've seen the community show up JUST TO WATCH AND SUPPORT. This is OUR TURF. If we don't protect home court, who will? I don't know. Maybe I'm blowing this out of proportion. But I sure hope not. I'd like to see A LOT more of it.

And I KNOW Laura and co. want that as well.

Which is why I'm psyched. We're on the same page. And you BETTER be expecting big stuff from us. Because Windsor-Essex deserves it.

.

..

...

..

.

Ok whoa rant over. Anyways, this post is getting kinda long so I'm going to save my next BIG announcement till next time.

ALSO, if you think you've fully explored this website, you're just scratching the surface.

Keep searching.

Prak


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page